Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a University student, residing in Ontario, with a born passion for real estate. I have been thinking of starting a custom home building company for a while now and have a few questions:

1. Does anyone own a company that builds custom homes (or is in general home construction) and could kindly give me advice (advantages, disadvantages, tips, etc.) on starting a company like this?

2. When is a good time to start this type of business?

3. Do custom home building companies hire subcontractors for projects? or have direct employees? or a combination of both? And if a combination of both, what would be some of the positions that would be directly under the company?

4. What are clients looking for when deciding to build a home?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
BTW I am studying Business in University.

·
Registered
504 Posts
If you want in this business you need a spec or a model. It takes money to compete. If you want to build 1mil homes you better have 3mil.

Can you borrow the money yeah probably if you do is there a 90% chance of failing.

The thing about building houses is it is all or nothing. It's not like you can sell part of it. You have to sit on it until you sell the whole thing.

Yeah most use subs they are usually just one or 2 people who sub everything out.

·
Registered
238 Posts
I have a family member who's in this industry, he says the market is dead compared to years ago and people are trying to get the bottom line as low as possible- he's barely breaking even. It's definitely a volatile market, I wouldn't get into it right now because it's just scary.

·
Registered
1,066 Posts