Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I am sure most of you are thinking, "another 'advice' thread, geeesh... when will these end.." but before I lose your attention and suffer the scorn of tblackj, let me make my case to why my thread might just be worth a bit of your time..

I received a late eighties Submariner that my father bought new as I graduated from college, and I am happy to report that it has served me well. I truly love the watch, it is both a point of pride and happiness every day when I put it on in the morning. That said, it is time for a new (or should I say another, as the sub isn't going anywhere) watch, and the sub will be going in for a full stay at the RSC.

First let me describe why I think buying a watch in NYC might be for me.. I live in Austin, TX, and while there are few things about this city that I don't love, it is certainly lacking as far as watch boutiques/retailers are concerned outside of Rolex/Tag/Breitling etc.. Your best bet nearby is Dallas or Houston, and even then the selection is spotty. I spend plenty of time online here, TZ, Risti (reading, no posting), yet have never tried on an AP or Panerai, so buying grey market isn't something I am comfortable with.

So this puts me in NYC (visiting a college buddy), with a rainy day/watch bank account just urging to be liquidated, with the three main brands (AP, Panerai, Rolex) being considered very well represented, two of which have dedicated boutiques in the city.

With a budget hovering around ~10k (+/- 2k depending on my mood and the watch, and not against finding something cheaper, or picking up 2..), I have narrowed my search to the following: