Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,
I am a young professional that will be done with my degree in mechanical engineering in December and thinking of moving to Calgary from Montreal for work l. I'm 24, single and looking for a place downtown that has a decent nightlife (bars, restaurants, etc) where I can develop my social network.

Based on my research, I have narrowed my search for condo rentals to the following areas:
-Victoria Park
-Connaught
-East Village
-Mission

Are there any other areas you guys can suggest and let me know if the ones above will fit my description. I'm looking for a condo with underground parking and a Gym.

·
Registered
67 Posts
I live in Red Deer (Hour north of Calgs) But definitely there are lots of nice condo's in the downtown Calgary area. But you will pay ALOT more to live downtown than you would say even 3 blocks from downtown. Try and stay in the southwest area, that is the best area in my opinion. It really depends on your budget. There is some nice new Condo's on Bow Trail that overlook downtown, Garrison Woods or anywhere in the Marda Loop area is a new young trendy area (5 minutes from downtown). If you're commuting try and stay away from places that require you to use Crowchild Trail as it is arguably the most brutal rush hour road in Calgary.

Just curious as a Mech. Eng. are you going to be working for a petroleum company downtown?

·
Registered
670 Posts
The east village is really turning out to be a nice place. They are investing alot of money in it so its not a bad place to consider as property value will increase in the coming years.