Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,516 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been doing research on a lift for my 2013 Ram 2500, and I had no idea the rabbit hole I had just plunged into. There are endless brands, price levels, and options, and for the life of me, I don't know what to choose.

Unless there is something I've missed, such as repeated quality control issues or something of the sort, I think I have finally settled on an 8" long arm BDS lift. It's within my price range and I've seen some good things about it, plus, for what it's worth, they offer a lifetime warranty. But even at this point, there are so many options within the kit itself, and frankly I don't know what I need or don't need.

The truck is a daily driver but will see light to moderate off road use. Mostly mud holes and mountain trails, and some snow every now and then. I don't need anything for extreme off roading or any Baja kind of stuff. I plan to put on 20" wheels and 37x13.5 tires. I originally wanted a 6" with the same wheel/tire setup, but I've heard a few people say they have had rubbing issues with a 6" with that large of tires.

So as for the options, here is what I can choose from:

-Rear lift: blocks (+$0) or springs (+$778)
-Front shocks: 5500 Series shocks (+0), Fox 2.0 shocks (+135), Dual 5500s (+728), Dual Fox 2.0s (+1132)
-Rear shocks: 5500 (+0), Dual 5500 (+184), Fox 2.0 (+135), Dual Fox 2.0 (+454)
-Steering Stabilizer: Stock, 5500 (+51), Dual 5500 T-style linkage (+183), Single 9500 (+104), Dual 9500 T-style (+289)
-Traction Bars (+578)
-Adjustable Front Track Bar (+336)
-Front Stainless Brake Lines (+156)
-Rear Stainless Brake Lines (+75)
-Carrier Bearing Drop Kit [Literally no idea what this is] (+30)

Any other advice or suggestions are welcome!

·
5,744 Posts
Springs, no blocks. Since you're staying within the confines of your stated options, definitely the foxs, big truck needs a decent shock.