Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Luxury4Play, this is my first post!

I'm a foreign student in Michigan and I'm thinking of buying a car in America for the first time. I was thinking about something that is fun but also practical. Given that it snows a lot, I was thinking an SUV would be best (maybe a BMW X6 or G wagon). However, cars are so cheap in America I can't help but think about Bentley Continental GT or a Maseratie GranTurismo or Quattroporte. To complicate things even more, a lot of my friends from home are pressuring me to go "full American" and get a muscle car but I guess in this case I would need to additionally buy a practical SUV.

What would you do if you were in my place?

Looking forward to all your suggestions!

I will be posting more about my history with cars in the next couple of weeks.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Why not get a G63? You get a SUV, but it also has a twin-turbo 5.5L V8 for times when you want to have fun.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Why not get a G63? You get a SUV, but it also has a twin-turbo 5.5L V8 for times when you want to have fun.
AryaF, I'm very tempted. Also, at $140K-ish, it's very cheap (compared to where I'm from). However, after driving one around a couple times this summer I wasn't very impressed - it doesn't pull its weight that well. The Brabus from the previous years I think is what G classes should pull like with all that power but they have made it way too heavy, I think. Plus, it's such a common car among my friends and people back home, I'm kinda jaded by it.

It is a great car, I love it, I wouldn't mind having it but because it's so common, too heavy, etc, I feel like I should look into some other cars before coming back to this. Do you think it'd be a good car for Michigan?

·
Banned
2,798 Posts