Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,666 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So tommorow finds myself and a friend who many ladies tell me is sensasionally good looking, modelling fashion, this will be the uk football hooligan culture, such as stone island, cp company, puma classic trainers etc.

I have a d300s and im wondering what settings to use ? Its in a proper studio, with flashheads and other things i have never used before.
I am hoping to use the 50mm F1.8 i have but experience has told me to fit a whole human being into the frame i need to have my tripod set back quite a way, and the studio is around 7m in length. So will probably be using the 18-70 3.5-4.5 lens i have instead :(

But any way even a quick line telling me what sort of settings to use would be ideal as a base ? I have an SB600 if that helps!?

Thankyou, and i will post the finished articles up here :)

·
Registered
790 Posts
The SB 600 won't do you much good except as a fill light. I would definitely use a light meter to dial in the studio lights / exposure. I shoot Nikon, and I would start at F8 on aperture priority and try some shots. It will take a while to dial in the flashheads. If you use only one light for a source, start at about F4 - F5.6. Using the faster 1.8 lens will allow you more flexibility with the lights. I wish I had some magic settings to throw out, but there are so many variables. Good luck! I know it'll work out for you. ;)

·
Registered
1,666 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thankyou :) Only really using the SB600 to trigger the external flashes (unless the d300s can do this on its own ?) Normally i just angle the actual flash so it points back over my shoulder...

·
Registered
223 Posts
With the D300s you can trigger your other flashes using commander mode in the bracketing/flash menu.
Here's a link that shows how to do it: Nikon D200/D300 commander mode

Gives you an extra SB-600 to work with!