Luxury4Play.com banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello L4P members,

I have a feeling this is true due to my recent experiences...

Do you think the watch you are wearing can or will deter someone from doing business with you?

(I work in sales and I have NOT been wearing any of my watches lately. I have noticed the events of the transaction have been much better)

I don't wear my 2 other watches much but I do wear my Breitling Super Ocean almost everyday at work.

I have another broker in the office that wears a 18K brand new Yachtmaster 2 and he went out and bought a everyday beater Rolex because at the boat show, people were surprised he could afford something like that.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
553 Posts
I don't like to wear watches even if they are expensive most of my watches i got them as a gift and they are laying in my locker for years, as long as you dress classy it doesn't matter.

Reactions: NstoutBMW

·
Registered
4,787 Posts
In sales, I'd say it's best to be modest. If everyone or 90% of your clients are "wealthy" then it's apropos to have an all gold Yachtmaster.

·
Registered
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
In sales, I'd say it's best to be modest. If everyone or 90% of your clients are "wealthy" then it's apropos to have an all gold Yachtmaster.
You would think this but the last thing that they want to do is give you their hard earned $$$. I have figured out that the majority of the clients correlate the watch with the money you are making. Its funny cus they are all different but I have to say most of they do not like to hand over any of their money. Its also their view on taxes.. They want to pay the least amount they can. Lol

Hmm never though of that. On the inverse, if I were going to buy something and the sales person was wearing a nice watch, I don't think it would bother me.