Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so as some of you may know, i'm a mechanical engineering student, and obviously i love cars. i know a decent amount about them, but its hard to learn some details and in depth things without having one to use.
So my question to you guys is, which car do you think is best to learn from. A car that i can tinker with, take apart, fix, modify etc. This car wont be my 1st nor 2nd mode of transportation so i dont car about any kid of economy or reliability etc.
Keep in mind i do live in Croatia, so any old american cars (mustang, i wish) wont be possible to get here. I'd like to spend less than 1000 euros simply because i'd rather spend money of new parts and stuff.
Some cars i've been looking into are, old ass jettas, old ass civics, E30s, golfs.
I'd love to hear your guys' suggestions :bow1:

·
Registered
6,608 Posts
honda! anything honda.

why? its super cheap, there is more info on modding a honda then any other car. also, there are so many possibilities. whether it be motor swaps, forced induction, using different motor parts on one motor....

·
Registered
692 Posts
Lexus LF-A or anything honda will work! :laugh:

·
Registered
929 Posts
Get an old golf, Europe is over flowing with them. Then proceed to make a build out of it and keep us posted

·
Registered
9,013 Posts
Buy my Mustang! (I feel bad for you :( )
It has a lot of room, easy to take apart and I want to get it sold!

·
Registered
5,125 Posts
a lada.

seriously: a vw or a seat, maybe a skoda.....buy whatever sells the most in your country...so that there is a demand for your work...

or you could buy an old xj6....and be able to work on any car in no time....no car breaks more than that car.

·
Registered
6,205 Posts
a lada.

seriously: a vw or a seat, maybe a skoda.....buy whatever sells the most in your country...so that there is a demand for your work...