Luxury4Play.com banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie. I'm looking to buy a Audi or BMW possibly. How much maintenance do these cars actually cost? Coming from owning a older lexus ES300 (1995) i would like to invest in another luxury car. The lexus treated me very well. Rarely anything went wrong with it. Do audi's have a lot of problems? will they last a long time? Or are they just another money pit..

Thank you

·
Registered
1,777 Posts
Welcome to the 4, what kind of Audi are you looking to buy?

·
Registered
55 Posts
I think with older luxury cars such as BMW 7 series or Audi A8 you should always expect minor and major defects. If a lot of technology is inside, unfortunately a lot can be broken. Not for nothing this models are often very cheap as a used car.
Perhaps German manufacturers are slightly better than Asian, but do not expect miracles

·
Registered
1,813 Posts
My family has had about 1/2m worth of bmws in the last 10yrs. Almost zero issues in a combined 300k miles or so. Just oil changes and blissful driving. Brakes are where bmw kills you, DIY for 1/10th the price, literally.

That said I just picked up the new GS350F lexus and im pretty happy with it.

·
Registered
2,948 Posts
The only thing keeping me from buying older german cars is the cost of parts. I don't have any first hand experience with the cost of maintenance but I'd much rather something go wrong on one of my American cars then on a German one.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Possibly an A4. What years should i look for? I mean if a lot of things are going wrong with these cars. I would probably stay away. I would think for the price that they rarely would have problems. Maybe i'm wrong to think that

·
Registered
2,792 Posts