L4P Review™ Steinhart Aviation

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: L4P Review™ Steinhart Aviation

          
   
  1. #1
    Justin:NorCal is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brentwood, CA
    Posts
    1,898

    Default L4P Review™ Steinhart Aviation

    Back when I first met MTK, RAW, and the rest of the L4P crew I didn't know the first thing about watches. I had a crappy Kenneth Cole department store watch. It kept time well, what the hell did I care. But after being here for awhile I began to appreciate the work of art that a mechanical watch is. I first bought a Chotovelli which has come and gone. Then I stumbled across a watchmaker named Steinhart. After reading some reviews I decided to jump in and get my first "real" watch (which this review is about). I now have this current Steinhart and a Bell & Ross. But let's go ahead and start with the watch that started my love affair.

    The History:

    The company was founded by Gunter Steinhart in Jura. Steinhart watches are made in Switzerland and are marketed in the U.S. online through the Steinhart website (Steinhart Watches) The company offers a diverse line of watches including several Unitas based vintage military style models, some automatic diver models (including a GMT variant) an automatic aviator watch, mechanical chronographs, and even skeleton watches. My review here however will be focused on the Aviation series.

    The Watch:



    The Steinhart Aviation series is available in two models, the Aviation Basic and the Aviation. The Aviation Basic has no complications and lacks a exhibition case back. This specific review covers the Aviation with the Seconds complication, PVD case, and exhibition case back.

    Ranging in price from €395 to €485 ($547 to $675). The Aviation comes in three choices, two of which have a PVD treated. The case measures 44m and has a very modern square shape.



    The watch is powered by a Unitas 6498 Swiss Made manual wind movement. It has been adorned with geneva stripes, blued screws, and 17 jewels all visible through the sapphire crystal exhibition case back.



    The front of the watch is PVD coated black, with matte black dial highlighted by orange luminescent hands. The dial features one complication displaying seconds at the six 'o' clock position. The lug width measures 24mm, making this watch interchangeable with many straps.



    The lume on the watch is exceptional! You could lead a blind man through a dark room with this watch.



    Last but not least, this watch had to have a personal touch. Rob Montana was the man for the job and made this AWESOME 1940s vintage leather strap that compliments the watch perfectly.



    My Thoughts:

    Steinhart Watches make an exceptional product in a very affordable price range. This watch is excellent for the person who is looking to get their foot wet for the first time with a watch purchase, especially if you are value-minded. While this watch isn't a Rolex, Bell & Ross, Panerai, it is a great piece to start your collection with.

    Thanks for reading,
    Justin Green
    L4P Mod Squad
    Last edited by Justin:NorCal; 01-04-2009 at 03:20 AM.
    ----
    Justin A. Green

  2. #2
    Mark C's Avatar
    Mark C is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,428

    Default



    The lume looks sick! great review

  3. #3
    575FP's Avatar
    575FP is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    999

    Default

    Great review!! Your Chotovelli gets much wrist time at its new home! I have been eyeballing these for a while this model and there Pilot models! Heads up for anyone that is interested Steinhart has changed its name to Debaufre!

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Luxury4Play.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Justin:NorCal is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brentwood, CA
    Posts
    1,898

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PFCarrera4 View Post
    Great review!! Your Chotovelli gets much wrist time at its new home! I have been eyeballing these for a while this model and there Pilot models! Heads up for anyone that is interested Steinhart has changed its name to Debaufre!
    Actually that is not accurate. They are one in the same. Steinhart is the parent company. When Steinhart opened their doors in the US (Florida), another company Steinhausen tried to sue Steinhart because they argued that the names were too similar. Order from Steinhart though directly. They have several different pieces and are picking up in popularity in Europe. My point, you could have a watch one day worth more than you paid for it.

    http://www.steinhartwatches.de
    ----
    Justin A. Green

  6. #5
    575FP's Avatar
    575FP is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    999

    Default

    I stand corrected sorry! Everytime I typed in Steinhart I kept getting Debaufre! and I stumbled across a release where I thought it said they changed names for the reason you stated! Thank you for clearing up though and giving the correct website!! Time to surf their pieces!

    Quote Originally Posted by Justin:NorCal View Post
    Actually that is not accurate. They are one in the same. Steinhart is the parent company. When Steinhart opened their doors in the US (Florida), another company Steinhausen tried to sue Steinhart because they argued that the names were too similar. Order from Steinhart though directly. They have several different pieces and are picking up in popularity in Europe. My point, you could have a watch one day worth more than you paid for it.

    Steinhart Watches - exklusive Uhren für Liebhaber - Fliegeruhren, Chronographen

  7. #6
    eurospek's Avatar
    eurospek is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hampshire, IL
    Posts
    4,237

    Default

    Awesome write-up.
    2005 SAAB 9-2X AERO Arctic Silver 4eat | COBB Stage 2 Protuned

  8. #7
    Drive4Ever's Avatar
    Drive4Ever is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    I dont need a location
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Great write-up, thanks for the input! I am very new to the watch world and thanks to this forum, I have begun my little collection. Did you order yours through their site or a local dealer?

    Thanks

  9. #8
    deckind's Avatar
    deckind is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    Another great write up! Thanks!

  10. #9
    Chris's Avatar
    Chris is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Naples / Tampa FL
    Posts
    3,406

    Default

    Awesome stuff, I just checked out their site.

    They have some very cool pieces.

  11. #10
    fusionstorm's Avatar
    fusionstorm is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SF Bay Area - San Mateo & Piedmont
    Posts
    2,231

    Default

    Nice writeup! It's good to balance the forum reviews with more affordable pieces. Not every member is a baller, or even "ballish".....
    When I'm not here, I'm slinging IT infrastructure or gone golfing

    2007 E550 - the DD
    2006 Touareg V10 TDI - the baby mobile

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

You MUST be 18 years or OLDER to Register for Luxury4Play. By selecting "Yes", you are performing a legal acknowledgment that you are 18 years of age or older.

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by scoobie.com.