Going to build a new home, would like to get opinions

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Going to build a new home, would like to get opinions

          
   
  1. #1
    Replay35 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Going to build a new home, would like to get opinions

    Dear forum users,

    I was looking for a plot to build on, here in the Netherlands.. Finally I found a plot and now it's time to build! But there is one problem!
    I just can't make a decision on the designs.. then I would contact an architect to design a house... I have already selected a interior designer, so it's just the exterior where I am struggling with.

    My problem : I would like to have a modern home in white, large windows and a big swimmingpool.. But here in Holland , we have warm summers and wet winters. So I don't know this is clever to do, what are you opinions?

    Here are some designs I like, what do you guys prefer?
    525688_368576119903246_1432789692_n.jpgIMG_9432.jpgSchermafbeelding 2013-07-09 om 21.39.11.jpg

    Here is the plot:

    089 kavel Almere3.jpg

    My favorite is the middle one
    Thank you guys in advance.

  2. #2
    Cmcdaid's Avatar
    Cmcdaid is offline Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    UK / Ireland
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Any pics off the Plot?

  3. #3
    Replay35 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    @Cmcdaid

    I added
    Rolls Royce Ghost EWB "13
    Lamborghini Aventador "13
    Range Rover Sport new model "13

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Luxury4Play.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    In AWD We Trust's Avatar
    In AWD We Trust is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Center of the Universe
    Posts
    6,861

    Default

    In my climate, I love prairie style as its modern without sacrificing weather structural integrity.

    While I love modern designs, I have a feeling I'd get tired of an extreme style. Prairie (the third) has a good mix that will has style with staying power in my opinion.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    RI USA/London UK
    Posts
    141

    Default

    I love that middle design, but then I do have a thing for modern designs.

    However, most modern designs (like the middle one) seem to be in very hot climate places (Cali,Miami,Spain etc), I'm not sure how good it would look as I (think) the roof couldn't be flat due to the rain in the winter.

    How many acres is the lot? and how big is the proposed size of the house going to be?

  7. #6
    In AWD We Trust's Avatar
    In AWD We Trust is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Center of the Universe
    Posts
    6,861

    Default

    The middle modern one will also be the most costly to build and maintain with floor to ceiling windows that have poor insulation value. You could go triple pane argon windows if you have the budget, but still.

    And having a modern exterior along with interior will limit your furnishing options to complement the minimalist modern style. The other 2 styles allow more eclectic styling and the interior won't look as bad if you are occasionally messy.

  8. #7
    Replay35 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by subscriptzero View Post
    How many acres is the lot? and how big is the proposed size of the house going to be?

    Hello,

    The lot is about 53821 square feet.. and we would like to have te size about 7534 square feet..

    Hope my converter did well haha.

    Thank you in advance
    Rolls Royce Ghost EWB "13
    Lamborghini Aventador "13
    Range Rover Sport new model "13

  9. #8
    In AWD We Trust's Avatar
    In AWD We Trust is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Center of the Universe
    Posts
    6,861

    Default

    I did a google image search of the 3rd one to satisfy my curiosity. Is this something to do with villa ontwerpen?

  10. #9
    JakubL's Avatar
    JakubL is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Germany/CZ
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Hard to say if it's clever or not, we have very similar climate in Czech republic (north). As for the opinion middle picture is quite like Miami style house or something on a beach side in US, not what I would build in EU specially in Netherlands.
    The third would be my choice.

  11. #10
    dotyy's Avatar
    dotyy is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Elk Grove, CA
    Posts
    1,138

    Default

    I like the middle one, but it will need to be maintained more than the others. I'm assuming that if you can afford a house like that, you can afford a few maids to come in and keep it clean to keep the modern feel
    In AWD We Trust likes this.
    Check out my luxury Hidden Content

    2005 Ford Focus ZX4 ST

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

You MUST be 18 years or OLDER to Register for Luxury4Play. By selecting "Yes", you are performing a legal acknowledgment that you are 18 years of age or older.

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by scoobie.com.